New York | Legal Ethics
Legal Question
When Dad was alive,he set up accounts for mom using my S.S. #,joint tenant,with rights of survivorship. Each year he would give me a check to cover any capital gains tax that occured. Dad is gone and I am handling all stocks,c.d.'s,and bonds under the same provision,including payment of any incurred tax. All correspondance,statments,etc. are mailed to my home. Any interest is mailed directly to mom,with the principle left under my manipulations. My sister has "power of attorny",and is a lawyer herself,insists on reviewing all my movments and stating that she has this right. My question would be : does she have this right,even though the funds are under my s.s. # with joint tenant,with rights of survivership?


