New York | Legal Malpractice
Legal Question
Final Decree of Judicial Settlement
The Executors attorney sent me a copy of, in one box - ''In the matter of the judicial settlement of the acct. of proceeding for executor
Box next to it Final Decree etc. with a file #83-870. The judge has not signed it yet.
Got same copy from clerks office after judge signed it, the file number had been crossed out and another in place, 83070 no explaination.
I had an att. who had gotten as far as petition to compel acct., the petition was not responded to, last court date adjourned., 3 yrs. later they want to finalize the estate and are using my petition #83070.
Filing that petion was all my att. did, time went by, nothing, he quit me . I got another att., he did nothing. He did converse with former att (even charged me for phone call.
Unknown to me 1st att. was still my att. of record., he did not notify court, the exec. att. knew he had quit.
Can they change file#, and who do I complain to about the attorney?
I have lost all my inheritence, I could not find att, had no rep, judge wouldn't hear me without one.
I've lost everything.
What can I do, without an att?
This took place in NY, I live in CA


