New York  |  Medical Malpractice

question bubble
10/31/09, 5:36 pm

Legal Question


My dentist performed a root canal with poor craftsmanship, which has resulted in me needing to get the tooth removed, and getting either an implant or bridge to replace it. I've been to another dentist and an oral surgeon who have both confirmed that the root canal was done improperly. I want to get an implant, which costs $3000, but my insurance does not cover any of the cost. I want to get my original dentist to pay for it since she messed up. How do I go about getting her to pay for it?


question bubble
11/05/09, 6:05 pm

Legal Answer


There are a couple of ways you can go. You can contact the dental society in the county you live in and file a complaint or you can locate an attorney to represent you. Litigation will take longer that the grievance process. If you would like you can contact my office at (516) 599-2020

Thomas Reilly

Albert W. Chianese & Associates 100 Merrick Road Rockville Centre, NY 11570

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/05/09, 7:20 pm

Legal Answer


I agree with Mr. Reilly (who by the way is an excellent dental malpractice attorney). A missing tooth is not worth initiating a lawsuit. You should contact the Office of Professional Discipline or the ADA Peer Review committee.

Jason Kessler

Law Offices of Jason B. Kessler, P.C. 111 Church Street White Plains, NY 10601

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search