New York  |  Medical Malpractice

question bubble
1/16/07, 5:53 pm

Legal Question


Eye damage during shoulder surgery

About a month ago I had arthroscopic shoulder surgery to tighten up my shoulder socket. When I woek up after the surgery my eye was in such extreme pain I didn't even notice my shoulder. I could not open my left eye at all. I immediately went to an eye specialist and they told me that I had a deep abrasion on the bottom part of my eye. He said this had to have come from extreme drying and then a hard scratch. During surgery they tape your eyes shut. What obviously happened was that my eye was slightly opened, and when they ripped the tape off part of my eye came with it. My left eye is still more blurry than my right. I have records from a couple years ago proving that my eyes should be the exact same. Will I be able to benefit from this? I really do not know what to do, but I am very upset that I may have permanent eye damage as i'm only 20 years old and in the middle of my undergraduate studies. Please tell me anything you can, thank you very much.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search