New York | Personal Injury
Legal Question
My car was on Lemoyne Colleges security camera and it got vandalized. Lemoyne Security wont let me see the camer and they are telling me they have no leads on this case. How can I get to see the video myself?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: David Simon |
Well, this is not an easy solution, but the first step is to write a letter and send it certified mail advising the College that they may have evidence of a crime on tape as well as evidence to be used in a civil lawsuit and you are respectfully putting them on notice to preserve that evidence. This is important because many security cameras re-tape over important events and the film is lost forever.
The second step is one of three options. Option 1 - make a claim to your insurance company and advise that college has the incident on tape and let the insurance company run with the ball. Option 2 - more costly - hire an attorney to make an application in NYS Supreme Court for pre-application discovery. Once a case has been opened, the attorney will have the power to subpoena the tape so it can be viewed. Option 3 - file a police report, if you have not already done so, and advise that the incident is on tape. Hopefully the police will investigate and the College will either voluntarily cooperate or the police can obtain a warrant. |
Top Attorneys in NY
David P. Slater, Esq.
Boca Raton, FL
Questions Answered: 7778
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-27
David L. Leon, P.C.
Dallas, TX
Questions Answered: 1828
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Gonzalez Law Associates P.C.
New York, NY
Questions Answered: 1374
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-14
The Law Offices of Anthony J. Colleluori & Associates PLLC
Woodbury, NY
Questions Answered: 1371
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-10-02
Law Office of David Watkins
Closter, NJ
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Law Office of Mark S. Moroknek *
Syosset, NY
Questions Answered: 1173
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-24
Attorney at Law
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 1010
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-13
Law Offices of Debra Palazzo, LLC
Hawthorne, NY
Questions Answered: 975
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-10
Law Offices of Jason Stern
New York, NY
Questions Answered: 744
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Search Questions and Answers


