New York  |  Personal Injury

question bubble
2/01/10, 8:36 pm

Legal Question


A civil action is pending before US District Court, Western new York. Clerk's entry of default was entered. The defendant filed a motion to set aside default. District Judge Arcara granted the defendant's motion despite failing to show a sufficient good cause. It's not Judge Arcara's only prejudicial ruling. My case was stained by Judge Arcara's outrageous ruling beyond the law and rules. I want to appeal the order setting aside the default. Can I appeal the order setting aside the default? Is it appealable? Thank you.


question bubble
2/07/10, 2:18 pm

Legal Answer


Setting aside a default is generally considered discretionary, and often done for good cause shown. As a rule, judges (and attorneys) like cases tried on the merits, and not decided on procedural slip-ups. That said, there are rules of procedure which should be followed. Circumstances are important in evaluating the reason for a default, and whether it should be vacated in the interests of fairness. Appeals of discretionary rulings are difficult to win. Best, M. E. Zuller

Michael E. Zuller

Zuller Law Offices 42 West 38th Street New York, NY 10018

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search