Legal Question in Personal Injury in New York

I was serious injured at age 5 by a criminal that was being chased by a NYC police officer. This criminal grabbed me by the back of my shirt and thru me from a 6 story building to the back yard braking my leg in three places, braking my arm, in injuring my head as it hit the ground causing facial skin tears that almost took my eye out the socket requiring stiches. The officer that was chasing the criminal didn't even stop to offer me assistance he was more interested in the criminal he was chasing which got away from him but was later arrested because my sister saw him and told my older brother who called the police to inform them. Can I now at 55 years old sue the NYC for damages. I read there is no statue of limitation period if the injury was sustained when your a child and you just discovered the facts.

Asked on 1/11/17, 6:53 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

David Slater David P. Slater, Esq.

No. The Statute of Limitations startED to run when you reached your majority (21) and has long lapsed. Nor is the City responsible for the actions of the criminal.

Read more
Answered on 1/11/17, 9:42 am


Related Questions & Answers

More Personal Injury Law and Tort Law questions and answers in New York