Legal Question in Personal Injury in New York

I was involved i an automobile accident in 2008 whre I blacked out at the wheel and rear-ended someone which started a chain reaction. I was taking medication at the time, but none were narcotic, and there was no alcohol involved. My truck also flipped over onto another vehicle. I am being sued by 6 people, however only 2 for personal injury ( a man and his son). My insurance limits were 25,000/50,000 for personal injury., and I have a feeling that they will sue for much more than my insurance will pay. I am filing chapter 7 bankruptcy ( I have no assets), but I was told that I cannot include the personal injury into my filing because the case is still in litigation, and there has been no judgement yet. Is this true? What are my options? Isn't there any way that I can prevent them from coming after me later since I'm filing bankruptcy? Please help!

Asked on 2/24/10, 9:30 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

David Slater David P. Slater, Esq.
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Retain private counsel to oversee the litigation.

Read more
Answered on 3/02/10, 3:20 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Personal Injury Law and Tort Law questions and answers in New York

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

89033 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Personal Injury Law and Tort Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony SmithLawSmithLee's Summit, MO
Glen AshmanAshman Law OfficeAtlanta, GA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now