New York  |  Personal Injury

question bubble
11/13/09, 11:25 pm

Legal Question


Is there a law that states the consumer has just so long to file an auto accident claim after the accident occured in order to be protected under that law if disputes arise from the auto insurance company not abiding by that law if such law exists?


question bubble
11/21/09, 8:51 am

Legal Answer


Yes, it is called a statute of limitations.

In some circumstances it may varry but in New York State against a private individual or corporation, (not a municipality), the Statute of Limitations is three years.

Patricia Martin-Gibbons

Antoinette Wooten

The Wooten Legal Consulting, PC 233 Broadway/ The Woolworth Bldg. New York City, NY 10279-0599

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search