New York | Personal Injury
Legal Question
stair fall - broken elbow
In June 2002, while helping a friend move, I fell off a portion of a stair backwards landing on my elbow. The elbow fractured and needed casting and therapy to help heal. The stair where I had fallen lacked a ballustrade with rail. This is not up to code. The building was built in 1964. The stair is original. Their was no pushing, slipping, or playing involved. As we guided a tabeltop down, gravity/momentum/balance took me down to the floor where a ballustrade/railing should have been. The fall was about 4 feet. I waited for awhile to consult with an attorney but decided against pursuing at that time. My question is, do I still have a case? Is two years too long? The elbow has not healed correctly and I have lost some ROM. There is still pain in the joint with some clicking. I waited to see how it would heal. 90% of my medical bills were paid. I was unemployed at the time of the incident. What value is there in this? Have I waited too long? Do I have a case?


