New York  |  Personal Injury

Legal Question

Asked on: 8/25/13, 8:23 am

I was the victim of an assault in april the case was settled in court 2 weeks ago and the person who assaulted me was given 1 yr conditional discharge,in the assault I lost both front teeth,can I sue this person for my dental expenses as well as damages

3 Answers


Answered on: 8/25/13, 8:35 am by Paula McGill

Yes, you can. There are two separate matters - criminal and civil. The criminal matter is brought by the government. The civil matter is brought against you for damages. If he pled or was found guilty, you can use that in your civil action.

I recommend you consult with an attorney to determine the value of your claim and your chances of collection against the defendant or possible insurance policies. You should do this as soon as possible.

Also licensed in New York and practicing on Long Island.

(516)510-0112 or demandingjustice@gmail.com


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Attorney at Law 1100 Peachtree Street, NE, Suite 200 Atlanta, GA 30309

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 8/25/13, 10:03 am by Eric Rothstein

You can sue. The question is whether the person has assers to collect from or a job to garnish wages.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Rothstein Law PLLC 11 Park Place, Suite 1100 New York, NY 10007

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 8/26/13, 6:48 am by Michael E. Zuller

Tricky. Insurance, say homeowners, will likely not cover a deliberate, intentional act. There is a negligent excessive use of force theory that sometimes works. If the defendant owns a home, works or has other assets you can pursue a civil case for intentional assault/battery and possibly recover. Best to consult an attorney. VTY, M.E. Zuller


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Zuller Law Offices 350 Fifth Ave., ste. 2716 New York, NY 10118

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

209 Answers given in the last few hours.

8662 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search