New York  |  Product Liability

question bubble
4/18/06, 10:12 am

Legal Question


Property Damage by Cement Contractors

My car was parked outside my apartment complex, while there was construction going on across the street. I noticed that there was something on the hood of the car so I asked my husband what it was; he thought that it was dirt. We went on vacation for a week and a half and when we came back we didn't wash the car right away because it was raining. This past weekend the weather was a little better so we decided to go and get the car washed. The attendant at the car wash told my husband that the stuff on the car that he thought was dirt was actually cement. My husband immediately called the contractors that were working on the building across the street to let them know of the situation. He was told by the contractors that because we waited ''so long'' to tell them that they are not responsible(It has been about three weeks). Being that we were on vacation we were unable to get in touch with them earlier. The question that I have is how do we go about getting them to pay for the damages. The cement is all over the car. There are big ''globs'' of cement on the roof of the car which we didn't even notice until we tried to open our sunroof! Thanks


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search