New York  |  Real Estate Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 5/23/13, 2:16 am

Can children automatically be granted the survivorship without going to surrogate court in NY By simply registering as owners-general partnership without proper transfer of property. One grandchild out of the blue claimed to NYC HPD that he is the owner with out any transfer of titles and is it necessary to continue a eviction when the said partnership has long been dissolved?

3 Answers


Answered on: 5/23/13, 2:26 am by David Slater

no


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


David P. Slater, Esq. 5154 Windsor Parke Dr. Boca Raton, FL 33496

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 5/24/13, 9:25 am by Walter LeVine

I probably agree with David, but your facts are not quite clear. More information is needed. How was property registered when owner died? Did owner have a Will or did he die without one? Has anyone gone to Surrogate and been appointed estate representative?


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Walter D. LeVine, Esq. 23 Vreeland Road #102 Florham Park, NJ 07932

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 5/24/13, 2:46 pm by Arnold Nager

Possibly, if the partnership agreement so provides.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Arnold H. Nager, Esquire 79 Cliff Street Hastings On Hudson, NY 10706-2101

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

125 Answers given in the last few hours.

8663 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search