New York | Real Estate Law
Legal Question
Landlord keeps security despite not renting
We gave a landlord a security deposit and he cashed the check. He sent us back a signed lease and one month later before we took posession, he informed us he will not rent to us without giving an explaination despite my insistance.
We also incurred expenses hooking up electricity so his contractor could do some work before we took posession and also had a gas company come out to assess the boiler as per the lease agreement.
He has not returned the security deposit.
What legal steps can we take to insure he returns our deposit. Eg: filing criminal charges (Landlord lives in WA and US mail was used for correspondance. Is the landlord breaking any laws?


