Legal Question in Real Estate Law in New York

Late Rental Payment Fees

In NYS is there a ''legal'' limit as to the amount a landlord may charge per month for late fees? Even if Section 8 is involved?

Asked on 8/07/08, 4:04 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Michael Markowitz Michael A. Markowitz, PC
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Re: Late Rental Payment Fees

Usually it is 5%. An excessive late fee is deemed unenforceable by the Court. See, Dashnaw v. Shiflett, 10 Misc.3d 1051(A) (N.Y.City Ct. 2005).

Mike.

Read more
8/07/08, 4:32 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in New York

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88122 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Real Estate and Real Property Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessRiverside, San Bernardino, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now