New York  |  Real Estate Law

question bubble
10/01/03, 7:19 am

Legal Question


Lien on Property

Lawyer advised that there were no liens or judgements on a inherited home jointly owned by two brothers . Made $28,000 in improvements and placed for sale. Four months later (2 days prior closing)lawyer advised the title company would not transfer title as there was a 10 year old lien on the property resulting from a 180,000 judgement against one of the brothers.

1. Is the lawyer liable for any costs e.g. loss of sale or reduced price as a result of bad information.

2. Can the party with the judgement take more than 1/2 of the shared net proceeds i.e. funds from the brother without the judgement against him?

Thank you


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search