New York  |  Real Estate Law

question bubble
8/11/08, 9:20 am

Legal Question


about to lose land

This is on agricultural land: An adjoining landowner had their land surveyed and we tend to lose a few acres. There is an obvious border (old fence) that has been there for decades also an obvious difference in the age and species of trees. Their side has mostly, young white pines and our side has older oak trees. Other neighbors agree that the fence line is their own line. The surveyed line does run perpendicular to the old fence. Is there some type of 'grandfather' law that would keep the line where it is or does a survey override this? What should we do? Thank you, in advance.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search