Legal Question in Real Estate Law in New York

My minor child represented herself as an adult online and entered into a contract to rent a vacation home for a weekend. She didn't have to provide identification and there was no verbal communication with the property owner. Upon discovering this, I immediately called the property owner to let him know that she was a minor child, to apologize and to request a refund of the deposit she paid. He refused. Is he required to return the deposit? Did she commit a crime?

Asked on 4/18/13, 12:07 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

In most cases, minors can't enter an agreement. I would need more details to answer your question definitively without additional background. It would seem that some information is missing from this question.

Read more
4/21/13, 6:28 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in New York

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8805 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Real Estate and Real Property Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessRiverside, San Bernardino & La, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now