New York  |  Real Estate Law

question bubble
1/19/98, 7:23 pm

Legal Question


money owed from an illegal sublet

I moved from NYC in 1994. I let a friend sublet my apartment which was deemed illegal by the landlord. When they became aware of this she was evicted.Unbeknownst to me was the fact that she had some unpaid rent and changes were made to the apartment. When I was ready to close on a home in my new state of MD, I was told there was a lien against me. To purchase my home I took out a personal loan to pay what was the minimum to remove the lien,1/2 the amount,$4500. This ex-frien of mine paid me the payments until Oct 1997. There is a balance of $1100.Do I have any legal recourse against her? I have consolidated my debts and paid the loan but I want to recoup my losses.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search