New York  |  Real Estate Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 7/02/13, 11:14 am

My mother wants to sell her house. However, there are 3 names on the house. Her deceased mother in law, decease husband and hers. She has 3 children one of which she had with her deceased husband. Who does the proceeds of the house now go to? Mother in law had no will. Husband did have will and has stated on his will that wife could live in the property for as long as she lived. Also stated on will daughter should receive all real properties.

3 Answers


Answered on: 7/02/13, 11:34 am by David Slater

It depends on how title was listed on the deed. Probate of the estates of the decedents may be necessary


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


David P. Slater, Esq. 5154 Windsor Parke Dr. Boca Raton, FL 33496

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 7/03/13, 8:55 am by Arnold Nager

The deed controls. However, you do not state if ownership is joint or as Tenants in Common. This is necessary to present a correct answer.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Arnold H. Nager, Esquire 79 Cliff Street Hastings On Hudson, NY 10706-2101

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 7/06/13, 4:26 pm by Walter LeVine

More facts are needed and the original Deed needs to be reviewed, to see how the original title was vested. It also depends on order of death if the original title did not specify the survivor takes all.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Walter D. LeVine, Esq. 23 Vreeland Road #102 Florham Park, NJ 07932

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

209 Answers given in the last few hours.

8662 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search