Legal Question in Real Estate Law in New York

What is the " REASONABLE FEE" for a assignment note?

we are in the processes of doing a refinance on a property. The currant lender agreed to assign to note and that we have to pay "reasonable" attorney fees for the assignment note.

The note is a simple ( i believe) hard boiled template, 1 page document .What is the " REASONABLE FEE"?

the point of stating the term "reasonable" in a contract is not to negotiate and to be fair for both parties, but still has to be "reasonable"

I am not looking to negotiate this fee but want to make sure its reasonable.

Can I legally challenge the lender if the lender is charging an excessive fee for this?

Asked on 6/07/13, 6:29 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Arnold Nager Arnold H. Nager, Esquire
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Ask that the fee be set forth before you accept the financing. You have a right to know your charges in advance.

Read more
Answered on 6/07/13, 1:56 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in New York

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88403 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Real Estate and Real Property Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Charles AspinwallCharles S. Aspinwall, J.D., LLCLos Lunas, NM
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now