New York  |  Real Estate Law

question bubble
11/04/09, 6:21 pm

Legal Question


I have been renting a house for the past year and a half. There was no renters agreement made when I started renting. I only had to pay a security deposit. I am in the process of buy the house. On October 1, in the presence of a lawyer, my landlord and I signed a purchase agreement and I put a $250.00 deposit down on the house which is to be held in escrow. My landlord gave me back my security deposit and I paid October rent with it. I wasn't sure at the time, If I was obligated to pay October rent or not because we had signed the purchase agreement. Well I didn't pay November rent, because I am anticipating that the closing to be the middle of this month. My question is, am I obligated to pay this months rent since we signed a purchase agreement and I have paid a down payment?


question bubble
11/10/09, 8:45 am

Legal Answer


I would think the rent will be adjusted at the closing. You should talk to your attorney.

Mike.

Michael Markowitz

Michael A. Markowitz, PC
1553 Broadway
Hewlett, NY 11557

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers: Search   Advanced Search