Legal Question in Real Estate Law in New York

As a seller of a home in NYC, I set aside funds in escrow to remove a violation from the property. There is a required penalty payment of about half the escrow amount needed to remove the violation. Should the payment come from the escrow or am I obligated to pay, and get a refund from the escrow?

Asked on 10/02/13, 9:31 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Walter LeVine Walter D. LeVine, Esq.
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Since the escrow was designed to cover the penalty, you should get consent from thre escrow holder to relase what amount is needed to satisfy it.

Read more
10/02/13, 10:44 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in New York

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88273 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Real Estate and Real Property Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Michael E. HendricksonAttorney & Counsellor at LawAlexandria,
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now