Legal Question in Real Estate Law in New York

My sister and her husband last year purchased a trailer from a friend of theirs. They have a receipt for the final payment showing a balance of zero dollars. They also have texts that state the purchase price includes lawyers fees and closing costs. Now, several months after, this individual is claiming that the trailer is still his because my sister and her husband have failed to complete their obligations. I think he feels they should pay for the fees and closing costs that he is having to come up with. My sister and her husband never received the deed even after repeated attempts to contact their friend. So the deed is still in his name. Who owns the trailer?

Asked on 6/08/13, 4:24 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Walter LeVine Walter D. LeVine, Esq.
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

If Deed is still in original owner's name, he technically is still the owner. They may have to sue him to get the Deed.

Read more
6/17/13, 4:37 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in New York

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88273 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Real Estate and Real Property Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Michael E. HendricksonAttorney & Counsellor at LawAlexandria,
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now