New York  |  Real Estate Law

question bubble
8/26/03, 7:50 pm

Legal Question


One of four sisters not on deed

My 89 year old grandmother had 3 older sisters. She was the youngest by over 10 years. When my great-grandfather passed away, her older sisters were put on the deed. She was not because she was, at the time, ''the baby''. Her sisters have all since passed. She has lived in the house for about 20 years and has paid property tax every year. There has never been a lease of rental agreement between herself and/or the ''next of kin'' who are now on the deed, although they were all aware that she lived there. She has paid for all maintenence fees as well as utilities for this 100+ year old house. I have heard of ''adverse possession''. She was never disinherited. Does she have a right to be on the lease?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search