New York  |  Real Estate Law

question bubble
4/14/06, 8:10 pm

Legal Question


Summons

Last year I was trying to buy a property, However I refused to close on the property because the real estate taxes was misrepresented by the real estate agent. The true taxes were almost twice the amount that the agent said it was.

I filed a summons with complain to the real estate agent,

However they reply with a counter claim , suing me for commission and legal fees.

The first answer was;

The court has no personal jurisdiction, because of improper service.

Questions:

1) Do I have to reserve the paper and answer the counter claim.

2) If I have to reserve the paper, how many days do I have.

3) And if I do nothing, what will happen. will I get a trial.

Thanks in advance for your help.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search