New York  |  Real Estate Law

question bubble
4/06/02, 12:18 pm

Legal Question


Tenant wants to sell business and break lease

Tenant has 18 months left on a 5 year lease. He is claiming that his fish retail business is not doing well and he wants to sell it-He has found a buyer for the business but he wants me to reduce the rent for the remaining 18 months to make the offer atteactive to the new buyer. I am standing by the terms of the old lease which also requires me to pay for all the utilities. As this business uses a tremendous amount of water I am losing money as well. The old tenant offered to buy out his old lease-he did not disclose the amount of money he would offer if I would give the new buyer a new reduced lease. I am not sure which way I should go with this-the old tenant has been problematic for the past 31/2 years as he never paid his rent on time , ther is a terrible smell coming from his store and I have been given violations and summons regarding it. Do I have a right to uphold the terms of the original lease for the next 18 months or can I incorporate those terms into a new lease with the new owner? Am I obligated to rent the store to the new owner? What are my resources and /or options?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search