Legal Question in Real Estate Law in New York

If verbally abusive spouse not contributing financially to home can I change locks? Stopped giving money for food (we have 2 children in home) in Feb 2013. Live in Brooklyn, NY.

Asked on 6/08/13, 9:26 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Daniel Scott Daniel U. Scott, Esq.
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

No. You can only change the lock after being awarded sole use of the home by a legal separation or divorce order.

Read more
6/08/13, 9:34 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in New York

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88273 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Real Estate and Real Property Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Michael E. HendricksonAttorney & Counsellor at LawAlexandria,
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now