New York  |  Real Estate Law

question bubble
9/03/10, 10:20 am

Legal Question


My wife and I owned a home jointly with her parents. They are now both deceased and we want to remove their names from the deed. What form do we need? (New York - Nassau County)


question bubble
9/08/10, 11:09 am

Legal Answer


Technically, since they are both deceased, there is nothing to do (as long as they were joint owners).

However, if you want, you can file a new deed with a copy of each death certificate.

Mike.

Michael Markowitz

Michael A. Markowitz, PC 1553 Broadway Hewlett, NY 11557

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search