New York  |  Traffic Law

question bubble
12/11/07, 10:35 am

Legal Question


florida sunpass ticket

i was driving a rented car in FL and the sunpass the rental co provided was revoked. I was pulled over after going thru a toll plaza and received a $165 ticket and was told 3 points will be charged to my NY license which has been clean for 20 years.


question bubble
12/11/07, 11:29 am

Legal Answer


Re: florida sunpass ticket

Contest the ticket, as further discussed below. NY participates in what is known as the Driver License Compact, as does Florida. Thus, if you do not contest the ticket it's possible that Florida will report the incident to New York at some point in time. Whether NY will apply it to your record thereafter is a different question.

Write the rental company's customer support department and its legal representative. They should assist you with resolving the ticket/fine if SUNPASS was part of your rental agreement. Also investigate grounds for disputing the charge through your credit card company.

The above is for informational purposes only. It is not legal advice since their is no attorney/client relationship.

NEAL SPECTOR, ESQ.

NEAL S. SPECTOR, P.C. 300 OLD COUNTRY ROAD, #351 Mineola, NY 11501

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search