New York | Traffic Law
Legal Question
Police Misconduct?
I was traveling on Route 17 in Monticello New York. I was behind a truck doing 40-55 mph. I went into the left lane to pass the truck. Across the highway I see a cop coming in the opposite direction. As I was passing the truck, I noticed the cop in my review mirror. He did not have on any emergency lights. He motioned for me to pull over. I assumed he was trying to pass me so I sped up to about 70 to finish passing the truck and get out of his way. After I got into the right lane, the cop followed me into it put on the red lights and pulled me over. He asked me if I knew why I was being pulled over and I said no. He said actually I wasn't after you I was after the guy in front of you. You just didn't get out of my way fast enough.
I requested a copy of the supporting documentation and in it he makes no mention of the fact that anyone was on my right. This cop actually pushed me to do 70 and then gives me a ticket for it. He states that he clocked me at 70mph. I got the other guys ticket.
Can what he did be considered entrapment? I had a passenger in my car.
I heard that Monticello is a trap off stretch of 17 but I never expected it to happen to me especially when I wasn't speeding.


