New York | Traffic Law
Legal Question
Can a ticket for not paying the train fee but using a student metro card be voided if the first name is incorrect?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Joel Salinger |
Although some tickets can be void if certain pedigree information is incorrect, the "ticket" you received can not. First, you did not receive a ticket in as much as you were arrested with out being put in handcuffs an processed. You received a desk appearance ticket with is the equivalent of an arrest. You probably have been charged with a misdemeanor not a violation. This can not be resolved in the way you are seeking.
Just to clarify, when a simple ticket is issued, it requires more than just the first name being wrong for it to be deemed defective and dismissed. The ticket is only required to give you enough information to be able to identify you as an individual and place you on notice that you are charged with the offense. If you last name, address, date of birth, drivers license number, social security number, or any other combination (the majority not the entiret) is correct it is not defective and will not be dismissed.
If you need further assistance, you can contact me at jrslaw@optonline.net or 516.746.4747.
Joel R. Salinger |
Top Attorneys in NY
The Law Offices of Anthony J. Colleluori & Associates PLLC
Woodbury, NY
Questions Answered: 1371
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-10-02
Robert S. Evans esq.
Brooklyn, NY
Questions Answered: 1359
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-07
Law Office of David Watkins
Closter, NJ
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Law Office of Mark S. Moroknek *
Syosset, NY
Questions Answered: 1173
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-24
Law Offices of Jason Stern
New York, NY
Questions Answered: 744
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Law Office of Savy Grant
Englewood Cliffs, NJ
Questions Answered: 630
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-30
Rothstein Law PLLC
New York, NY
Questions Answered: 595
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-12
Jeffrey A. Lazroe attorney at law
Buffalo, NY
Questions Answered: 564
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-07-14
Rosenberg & Press L.L.C.
Stratford, CT
Questions Answered: 335
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-11-24
Search Questions and Answers


