New York | Wills and Trusts
Legal Question
My aunt passed away and I am the only person on the will. She has a surviving brother that she has not had a relationship with for 20 years or more. He is very elderly and in a nursing home. he was served a copy of the will. I was told that the court might require that a guardian could be appointed for him if they don't believe he might not fully understand. I would have to pay thousands of dollars for this and he is not even on the will. Could this be. Also if so, could i elect to not settle the will rather than have to pay so much. If it is a valid will and they have no reason to contest, what would a guardian accomplish? There are no other living relatives.


