New York  |  Wills and Trusts

question bubble
10/30/09, 12:39 pm

Legal Question


Please explain the meaning of the following statement - Upon termination of the Trust, the Trustee shall distribute the principal and income of the trust to her children in equal shares, with the issue of any deceased child succeeding to the interest of their parent by right of representation.

Especially the last segment of the sentence - with the issue of any deceased child succeeding to the interest of their parent by right of representation.


question bubble
11/04/09, 7:08 pm

Legal Answer


It means that if a child is dead, this child's children (issue) will receive his share.

Note: The above response is provided for legal information purposes only and should not be considered as legal advice. This response doesn’t create an attorney-client relationship.

Luba Smal

Smal Immigration Law Office
PO Box 540531
Omaha, NE 68154

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers: Search   Advanced Search