New York | Wills and Trusts
Legal Question
Father did not have a will
My parents have not lived together in over 10 years. I have remained with my dad until he passed away two weeks ago, in a two family home owned by both of them. My father had a car, that he paid for with money left to him by my grandfather. He wanted me to have the car. I took care of my father while he was dying. About a week before his death, he stated that he wanted my brother and I to have his half of the house. He stated this in front of a few people. We never got a lawyer. My mother now wants me out of the house so she can sell it. Do I have any rights to the car or house?


