New York  |  Wills and Trusts

question bubble
9/03/10, 11:11 am

Legal Question


what happens when an heir dies in new york state after the date of his sisters death but before her estate is settled?

there is no will. he has no spouse or offspring.he was a ward of the state of ny and institutionalized.

is he still an heir?


question bubble
9/08/10, 11:57 am

Legal Answer


Yes, he is still and heir. Distribution would be through intestacy laws.

Mike.

Michael Markowitz

Michael A. Markowitz, PC 1553 Broadway Hewlett, NY 11557

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search