New York | Wills and Trusts
Legal Question
What happens when an inmate in NY prison receives an inheritance from his father? Can and will the state take it? Does the inmate need an attorney?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Walter LeVine |
Not knowing the charges that caused the imprisonment, and if they relate to the inheritance, I cannot adequately respond to the question. However, in general, unless there are unpaid fees and costs or judgments or liens against the inmate, or other creditor claims that remain unsatisfied, he should be entitled to the funds. How and when he gets them is another thing. |
Top Attorneys in NY
David P. Slater, Esq.
Boca Raton, FL
Questions Answered: 7778
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-27
Michael A. Markowitz, PC
Hewlett, NY
Questions Answered: 4227
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Walter D. LeVine, P. A.
Florham Park, NJ
Questions Answered: 4123
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
David L. Leon, P.C.
Dallas, TX
Questions Answered: 1828
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Law Office of David Watkins
Closter, NJ
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Law Office of Mark S. Moroknek *
Syosset, NY
Questions Answered: 1173
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-24
Arnold H. Nager, Esquire
Hastings On Hudson, NY
Questions Answered: 1075
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-27
Attorney at Law
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 1010
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-13
Law Offices of Debra Palazzo, LLC
Hawthorne, NY
Questions Answered: 975
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-10
Norman Nadel, Esq.
New York, NY
Questions Answered: 952
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-19
Search Questions and Answers


