New York  |  Wills and Trusts

question bubble
4/13/09, 11:48 pm

Legal Question


Insurance awards to estate of deceased

Mom & Pop were divorced 1957 when I was 1 month old. No contact with Pop -ever. Started search for Pop through geneaology records. Found Pop killed in bizarre bridge collapse 1983 in CT. 1986 CT awards estate 1.43 million. Am I entitled to portion of estate award even though 22 yrs have passed and if so, what would be my first step in collection. As a side note, I'm sure Pop had never mentioned me to his current family, assuming he had one. Thank you.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search