New York | Wills and Trusts
Legal Question
Can I leave my house to my adult children, without their spouses being included? I live in NY state.
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Walter LeVine |
Yes. Their spouses need not be mentioned in the Will or included on the Deed. However, it might require the spouses to sign a Deed when the house is sold, to be sure any marital rights are extinguished. It might be better to leave the house to them in a trust rather than outright. If the house is to be kept in the family, be sure to spell out responsibili8ty for payment of the bills, such as taxes, insurance, repairs and maintenance. This is an answer to an Internet question and the reply is not intended to be legal advice or as creating an attorney-client relationship. |
Top Attorneys in NY
David P. Slater, Esq.
Boca Raton, FL
Questions Answered: 7778
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-27
Michael A. Markowitz, PC
Hewlett, NY
Questions Answered: 4227
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Walter D. LeVine, P. A.
Florham Park, NJ
Questions Answered: 4123
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
David L. Leon, P.C.
Dallas, TX
Questions Answered: 1828
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Law Office of David Watkins
Closter, NJ
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Law Office of Mark S. Moroknek *
Syosset, NY
Questions Answered: 1173
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-24
Arnold H. Nager, Esquire
Hastings On Hudson, NY
Questions Answered: 1075
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-27
Attorney at Law
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 1010
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-13
Law Offices of Debra Palazzo, LLC
Hawthorne, NY
Questions Answered: 975
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-10
Norman Nadel, Esq.
New York, NY
Questions Answered: 952
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-19
Search Questions and Answers


