New York  |  Wills and Trusts

question bubble
10/19/02, 1:47 pm

Legal Question


Mom and dad never married, I'm his only child, his wife told me differently

I was under the impression all my life that I was my father's only child. After his death in 1999, I called his house to speak with him, his wife answered, told me he had died and went on to say how she had tried to contact me to let me know. Couldn't have tried too hard, because I'm very well known. Anyhow, she went on to say that I missed meeting my 8 brothers and sisters from down south, which I certainly don't believe. I never asked about a will nor did I ask if he left me anything, I know he owned the house they lived in but I was in a state of shock when I was on the phone with her. I believe she only told me that to keep me from asking about a will or anything entitled me. She has always been a tale-teller if you know what I mean.

If there is no will, what can I do? Also how can I find out if there are any other siblings? Am I as his birth child entitled to anything or is his legal wife sole heir?

Please advise me of my rights as his daughter. Thank you so much.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search