New York  |  Wills and Trusts

question bubble
3/23/09, 9:04 am

Legal Question


probate

my mother recently passed away with a will and name me as executor. I have been able to settle all matters except a small life insurance policy naming my deceased father, and real property that lists her and my father on the deed. Her will stated that everything was to be divided equally amoung their 5 children (me and my siblings). I was told by the attorney who was holding my parents wills to file a small estate with the surrogate court for the insurance policy and that I didn't need to probate the will for the property. Now the court staff is telling me that they believe I need to go through probate for the real property. I'm dealing with the Warren County Surrogate Court.

My question: Do I need to go through probate in order to settle these matters?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search