New York | Wills and Trusts
Legal Question
Two weeks ago, I received a letter form a prominent pension organization informing me that I might be the beneficiary of a former multi-year social partner who passed away 12/26/2010 unexpectedly. The letter said that the submition of a death certificate would allow a settlement to proceed. Subsequently, I was contacted by the deceased's daughter who wanted me to talk to her attorney about relinquishing my beneficiary rights. Her attorney called me and pressured me to sign an agreement as such. He claimed that the pension company had provided him with the beneficiary change notice executed by the deceased stating my name. He said he plans to challenge it and tie the settlement up for years in court if I don't sign the release. A follow-up conversation with the pension company re-affirms my beneficiary status and it is proceeding to offer settlement options to me. The family keeps calling me and, now, my children pressing their case. We are feeling pressured, harrassed and intimidated. Can they do this to us? Can they stop a legitimately designated beneficiary? What can we do to stop it? Please advise. Thank you.


