New York | Workers Comp
Legal Question
Compensation settlement
By brother was badly burned while on the job, 3rd degree burns on hands, face legs, and stomach due to an electric fire casued by a fault circuit breaker. Laws suits against manufacturer of fault part is in process. He was on the Job working as an electricial -- He was in the hospital 3 1/2 weeks the incident happen in DEC 2003. He still can not use is hands to work. Now his lawyer says compnsation wants to settle 120,000 but they want 80,000 back. He does not understand this. He probably will not be able to work again. Does this sound fair ?? and how does this settlement affect any other law suit. He was also told he would need to get his own health insurance. He is really confused. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks


