Nigeria  |  Business Law

question bubble
10/20/09, 8:30 am

Legal Question


I imported a car from the USA. The shipping line mistakenly dropped the car in Benin Republic whereas the car was meant to come to Nigeria. The shipping company apologised and persuaded that i clear the vehicle through cotonou by returning my shipping cost. They gave a contact of their agent in Cotonou to me to meet and collect the car. The agent confirmed receipt of the car but told me the car got lost while the Stevedoring company was handling it. They told me that the Stevedoring agreed to pay back the cost of the car. But for two months plus now, nothing seems coming forth from them rather they keep tussing me up and down. Can i institute a legal suit against the agent of the shipping company who took the car and equally demand for damages, since they are the one that secured the services of the stevedoring company or is it the shipping line itself that i would have to institute legal action against? Please advice


Search Past Answers: Search   Advanced Search