Legal Question in Traffic Law in North Carolina

i got a speeding ticket for going 12 miles over the posted speed limit, I was told if i go to court the D A will probably reduce the ticket to 9 over and charge court costs; this would keep it off of my insurance. This is my first offense I am wondering if this is true

Asked on 1/05/11, 2:46 pm

3 Answers from Attorneys

Victorianne Maxwell Maxwell Law Firm, PLLC
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

you need to consult with a traffic attorney, they may be able to reduce your points to a non-moving. as a defendant you have limited negotiating power.

Read more
1/10/11, 3:01 pm
Jason Witt Stone & Witt, P.A.
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Depends what county you are charged in. Many counties offer improper equipment- you may need a hire a lawyer or attend driving school. Just depends on the county.

Charlotte Criminal Lawyers

Read more
1/10/11, 4:51 pm
Jeff Rosner Rosner Law Firm P.A.
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

It is true that if the DA reduces your offense to 9 over and you have no prior citations, it will not cause your insurance to go up if it is the only moving violation in a three year period. Many counties have better deals such as improper equipment though so you would want to explore those options first as the prior posters have said.

Read more
1/11/11, 5:00 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Traffic Law questions and answers in North Carolina

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8807 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Find a Legal Form

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessRiverside, San Bernardino, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now