North Carolina  |  Traffic Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 1/05/11, 2:46 pm

i got a speeding ticket for going 12 miles over the posted speed limit, I was told if i go to court the D A will probably reduce the ticket to 9 over and charge court costs; this would keep it off of my insurance. This is my first offense I am wondering if this is true

3 Answers


Answered on: 1/10/11, 3:01 pm by Victorianne Maxwell

you need to consult with a traffic attorney, they may be able to reduce your points to a non-moving. as a defendant you have limited negotiating power.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Maxwell Law Firm, PLLC 1200 East Morehead Street, Ste 140 Charlotte, NC 28204

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 1/10/11, 4:51 pm by Jason Witt

Depends what county you are charged in. Many counties offer improper equipment- you may need a hire a lawyer or attend driving school. Just depends on the county.

Charlotte Criminal Lawyers


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Stone & Witt, P.A. 301 S. McDowell St., Suite 1000 Charlotte, NC 28204

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 1/11/11, 5:00 am by Jeff Rosner

It is true that if the DA reduces your offense to 9 over and you have no prior citations, it will not cause your insurance to go up if it is the only moving violation in a three year period. Many counties have better deals such as improper equipment though so you would want to explore those options first as the prior posters have said.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Rosner Law Firm P.A. 1301 Larkhall Court Cary, NC 27511

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

209 Answers given in the last few hours.

8662 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search