Legal Question in Civil Rights Law in North Carolina

I live in a condo complex where we have to register our pets with the HOA (breed, weight, shots, etc.). Recently our HOA has started calling vet offices to verify our pet's information. If your pet is over the weight limit they are giving you 7 days for you to make other arrangements. Several questions:

1. Does an HOA have the right to call your vetís office to verify your pet's medical information?

2. Does the vet's office have any legal restrictions on what information they can and cannot give out to someone who isn't the owner?

3. If you have an indoor cat that died (the vet was not made aware of this and stated that the cat was alive), does the HOA have the right to come into your home to check? Can I say no?

4. Do I have any rights in regard to my petís privacy?

5. Can the HOA get sued?

On some level it seems like privacy laws should extend to pets since they are your property.

Thanks!! SarahJane

Asked on 11/03/10, 8:30 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Related Questions & Answers

More Civil Rights Law questions and answers in North Carolina

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88122 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Civil Rights Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessRiverside, San Bernardino, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now