North Carolina | Immigration Law
Legal Question
If someone has a green card how often to they have to come to the U.S.? I was told that it has to be every three months. Is that true? If not, what are the requirements in order to keep one's green card current. I appreciate your help. By the way, this would pertain to Greece.
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Luba Smal |
The permanent resident of the USA has to establish permanent residency in USA, pay or report taxes in USA every year (even on income obtained abroad), etc. Green card is not a simple means to travel to USA, it makes its holder a "permanent resident of USA" with all rights and obligations.
As a permanent resident, one shouldn't stay abroad for longer than 6 months at a time. In order to avoid losing "green card" by abandonment, a permanent resident should never stay abroad for longer than 1 year.
If needed, a reentry permit can be obtained.
Note: The above response is provided for legal information purposes only and should not be considered as legal advice. This response doesn’t create an attorney-client relationship, which can only be established through payment of a fee. We do not offer free advice except for the information provided on this forum. If follow-up advice or consultation on your specific situation is requested, we offer a paid consultation in person, or by telephone or email. Please visit our website http://www.law-visa-usa.com/contact_us.html for more details. Our contact email address is Attorney [@] law-visa-USA.com
|
Top Attorneys in NC
Law Offices of Brian D. Lerner, A Professional Corporation
Long Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 1043
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-29
Ajay K. Arora, Attorney-at-Law, P.C.
New York, NY
Questions Answered: 357
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Law Offices of Seeta Nangia
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 255
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-09
Manchanda Law Offices PLLC
New York, NY
Questions Answered: 137
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-07-15
Philip Eichorn Co., LPA
Cleveland, OH
Questions Answered: 127
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-04
Law Offices of Tsirina Goroshit & Associates, P.C.
New York, NY
Questions Answered: 101
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-26
Martin & Martin, PA
Greenville, SC
Questions Answered: 54
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-10-10
Law Office of Bill Travis Klein
Long Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 18
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-18
Wilson & Associates, P.A.
Saint Paul, MN
Questions Answered: 3
Last Question Aswered on: 2001-08-02
The MacKenzie Law Firm
Winston-salem, NC
Questions Answered:
Last Question Aswered on: 0000-00-00
Search Questions and Answers


