North Carolina  |  Immigration Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 10/27/11, 12:25 pm

What can a person do if they are being held by immigration for being pulled over for DUI? Is there an amount one can pay to get them out?

1 Answer


Answered on: 10/27/11, 5:57 pm by Philip Eichorn

If a person is pulled over for suspicion of DUI and ICE lodges a detainer there are two general avenues on which the matter will proceed. First, the local prosecutor may agree to dismiss the charges and let ICE take custody of the individual. This rarely happens unless ICE contends mandatory detention (no bond) and therefore a likelihood of removal. The second path is that the local case completes and then ICE must take custody within 48 hours. Regardless, anyone who is in criminal proceedings and has an ICE detainer against them should retain experienced deportation counsel.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Philip Eichorn Co., LPA 812 Huron Rd, Suite 290 Cleveland, OH 44115

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

153 Answers given in the last few hours.

7513 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search