North Carolina  |  Intellectual Property

question bubble
11/03/09, 4:44 pm

Legal Question


Is it legal to show a purchased DVD for customers' viewing at a business establishment ? There would be no charge for watching the movie.


question bubble
11/08/09, 5:19 pm

Legal Answer


No, not without a license from the copyright owner(s). Public display is within the 'bundle of rights' owed by copyright owner(s), and it is not a right which you purchase when you buy a DVD, which is only for personal viewing.

Sarah Grosse

Sarah Grosse, Esquire sarahgrossejd@hotmail.com New Port Richey, FL 34655

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search